30 comments on “Sovereign of the stars

  1. Hi,

    Congrats on completing the MSD for the best class of ship in Star Trek history! I’ve been looking forward to this for a while! Thanks for posting!

  2. That’s hot, dude. I think John Eaves and Mike Okuda would approve. πŸ™‚ I always did like the Sovereign-class, John did a great job designing it.

  3. Hey I did some research the Registry for the Ark Royal is NCC-71313. Found it on wikipedia.org

    • Thank you for your efforts.

      However this MSD is not of the original Ark Royal, but a newly commissioned Sovereign Class Ark Royal. Thus its registry is different.
      Only the Enterprise was ever given special dispensation to keep its 1701 registry number for each of its incarnations.

      Besides, any ship named in books and games are not considered canon. Only those mentioned or seen on screen in some manner are considered canon.

  4. Really cool. I have liked everything I’ve seen here on this site. Any chance you have considered doing a Nova class ship?
    W’raa

    • Thank you. πŸ™‚
      I might do a Nova Class. I have a Steamrunner planned next. Just gathering the last bits of info for it.

    • Oh, it has been helpfull. I will attempt to avoid using any names on that list in the future, to avoid confusion πŸ™‚

  5. I like it really πŸ™‚ Just one question: what is that Weyland-Yutani logo near the upper shuttlebay? :DD

  6. This is really great work, Padsbrat. πŸ™‚

    Seeing what you’ll do with the Steamrunner will be quite interesting, no doubt. Personally, though, I’m rather curious about what you could do with the Luna-class… it’s not like I’ve never seen an MSD of that one done ever.

    • Thank you πŸ™‚

      The Luna class is quite possibly the most ill thought out, most unpleasing design I have ever had the misfortune to set my eye upon. It is cumbersome, looks hashed together. Like some fan took their favorite bits from 12 different designs and kludged them together.

      I’ll put it on my To Do list, but it’ll be hard to get inspiration for that abomination.

  7. Don’t you think about make this in Nemesis-style? ^^ Or an Intrepid class MSD in Nemesis-style? ^^ Any of them will be great πŸ™‚

  8. Awesome! But… it only haz 25 decks, Guess this is the prototype version, huh? πŸ˜›
    Incredible work either way, it’s an awesome MSD πŸ˜€

    • I took the published dimensions and calculated the number of decks allowing for 4 metres per deck for habitable space, utilities and jefferies tubes. What I found was that 25 decks fitted into the established hull size. So 25 is what you see.

Open com channel:

